Systems And Strategies For Laying

There are a million of them out there somewhere and most are to be found in some crappy ebook that you have to pay to download and they turn out to be something you probably were already aware of.  But there are some jewels to be found if you look around.  I’m currently tinkering with a tweaked version (aren’t they all ?) of the Maria Laying System combined with another system I came across this morning, plus I still have the old faithful from about 6 years ago that we used to follow rigidly.

While the success of Maria’s system isn’t in doubt (3000 – 100,603.78 in 303 days) she never divulged how she arrived at her lays for the day but whether it was pinsticking or form reading it was an outstanding achievement nontheless.

Laying can be a dangerous game especially given that, unless you only lay at odds on, you’ll be risking more than you stand to gain if things go wrong so you absolutely MUST have some sort of strategy to follow that will ensure you don’t lose more than a certain amount per day if it all goes to rat shit – a stop loss if you will.  On the other hand it pays to adopt some sort of staking plan that increases your take home incrementally as your bank grows and that too should be a strong consideration.  So that just leaves us with the question of what to bet on and for me I’ve chosen the lay of the 0-0 HT score though, until my bank has another zero on the end of it, it will be a paper exercise only to test the viability of the final method (the one I’ve yet to come up with).

More on the above as it materialises but for now it’s on to todays punting.  Nothing really thrills me at all today and if I had something else to do I’d do it but I don’t so I’m going to have a couple of smallish bets.  I’ve already bet and won in the Fortuna Dusseldorf match – currently I’m on over 2.5 in the Wiener / Rapid match and that’s pretty much all for now.  If I can get feeds for the later matches I’ll take a look and may go in but it’s case of wait and see.  Back later with an update.

UPDATE>>>>>>>>> OK, so all’s good in the Wiener match as the score is currently 2 apiece.  A lay of the 0-0 HT score in the Hoffenheim match has just come in as Monchengladbach have just converted a penalty, their first away goal of 2010, following a deliberate handball in the box by the Hoffenheim captain.  I’m really tempted to call it a day but I’ll watch the first 10 minutes of the Maritimo v Nacional derby and then decide what to do from there.

UPDATE>>>>>>>>> The Hoffenheim match ended with yet another penalty for handball in the box, this time in their favour, and was duly converted to level the match at 2-2 and that was the final score.  The replay of the first penalty showed that it actually occurred outside the box so Monchengladbach were lucky to get the penalty decision but this is football and the refs & their colleagues on the lines rarely get important decisions right.

Didn’t bother with the Maritimo match after all so nothing else to report.  Looking forward to tomorrow and hoping to pick a few pockets.  Anyone who has read through my posts and looked at the spreadsheets I put up will see that I currently don’t really have a solid game plan that I stick to.  Don’t panic, it’s coming, it’s just that for now I’m bank building and doing whatever I think is necessary to get the funds in.  When I get to where I want to be then you will see more of a structured approach which on the face of it may appear boring but with the right staking method as it’s foundation the numbers that follow the £ sign should see a nice steady increase – and that’s all I’m working towards right now.  So until tomorrow, have a good evening, spready etc below.

Start Bank      :    209.42
End Bank        :    235.22
Profit / Loss    : + 25.80 (After Commission)

2 Responses to Systems And Strategies For Laying

  1. Edgehunters says:

    Hi Swearbox

    Excellent post and thanks for putting the link on to the the Maria staking plan. If nothing else reading her story always leaves me with increased motivation.

  2. swearbox says:

    Thx Edgehunters…that Maria thread really is inspirational and just shows what you can achieve with a sensible staking plan coupled with a decent way of arriving at your chosen picks. I know people who are making money from betting, decent money at that, and I absolutely believe that if you have half a brain you can make a go of it but the killer is keeping the discipline.

    I’ll be keeping up with your blog on a daily basis. Good luck with it.

Leave a Reply

